OUT AND ABOUT

Elder’s Meditation of the Day – August 11

“May there be peace when we meet.”
–Audrey Shenandoah, ONONDAGA

 

The Elders tell us the greatest gift we can seek is peace of mind; to walk in balance, to respect all things. For us to do this, we must have peace within ourselves and peace within ourselves cannot come unless we are walking the path the Creator would have us walk. Sometimes the tests on this path are difficult, but we know that each test makes us stronger.

Oh Great Spirit, I ask You to whisper Your wisdom in my heart. You are the only one who knows the secret to peaceful living and the mystery of harmony. Teach me of Your peace, understanding and balance, and guide me onto your good path.

sun tree
11 AUGUST 2016 URUNGA BEACHSHACK

I was lying there as usual this morning when Kat called and asked me for brekkie and coffee. Felt obligated to go and meet her and Lis . I had coffee and got out and about. Did me good. I have booked Community Transport for early tomorrow and am going to The School to see Saffy’s room and artwork. Might stay there till Arkue and Ames come and get me. We will see.

Its very strange to know that one is in real trouble. I am in real trouble.

I wish I could find the words for you – but I don’t seem to be able to. I go through each day. I don’t know whether I shall ever be happy again – or even sad. I simply watch people and things.

Now and then, one of the Little Girls touches something aching inside. And then – once more – the shutters come down – and lock the Madness inside.Where its safe. Its near to bedtime because I have big plans for tomorrow. Maybe I could polish my shoes.

sun shack3

Journey To The Heart August 11

Find Places of Healing

Find places of healing. Discover people, things, and places that nourish your soul, bring you back to center, help you heal.

Life is not an endurance contest. Not anymore. We are not in a race to see how long we can go without, how much we can go without, how much pain we can stay in. Although sometimes we go through dry spells and droughts, we are not cactuses.

There is a place in each of us that wants to heal, that can heal, that will heal. It’s a peaceful place, one of nourishment, replenishment, peace, safety, comfort, and joy. It’s a place of love and acceptance. It’s a place of forgiveness, honesty, openness, nurturing, and kindness. You can find it quickly, if that’s what you’re seeking. You will recognize it instantly because of how it feels. It will bring you back to center. It will bring you back to calm. It will bring you back to joy.

Find places of healing. Then go there often. They are yours for the asking, your for the seeking. Healing places are an important part of the journey.

Leave a Reply

