LIFE LESSONS

What Can I Learn from the Dying and the Illness and the Ageing?

In our ” bounce on to the next happy time ” society, I often feel disapproved off or mentally unwell for my thought going into these 3 matters but it seems to me that disdain for any of them is folly. I have now seen death and faced it myself. I know illness which may well lead to a seemingly early death and I am growing old.

I was pleased to see the blog about the Indian Resthouses.  Years it is that I have dreamed of RestHouses, not even knowing quite what they are. It would be a relief to sit amongst others whose minds turned a little as mine does. A relief not to keep re-gathering myself and attempting to NOT SUFFER. I wish our society were a little kinder and a little more carefilled for us. I see a lot of older men and women now – battling. The difficulties are already there without needing to do all that the young and fit can do – just to keep housed and fed.  I shall read these 12 points more carefully and see what I think.

If I had my Druthers, as my Mum used to say, The Raleigh Village would have been what they told me it was to be. A place for the younger of the old to make a home they could stay in and grow old in. But it is not that. It is for the very old and takes almost all the money from the pension. The kindness needed by US – is not a great deal. Not expensive.  And not existent.

Nonetheless – tonight I am OK. Nonetheless – the inner changes I had begun to despair of have started to come. Well I guess its growing close to two years since I was put into the coma.

https://cleansilver.wordpress.com/2014/10/02/21-days-asleep/

Find beauty in simple things

tree-fp-2
TREES ON THE FAIRY PATH TO THE SHACK

__________________________________________________

What Can We Learn from the Dying?

Rooted in the hearts of many Hindus is the belief that if you breathe your last in Kashi (Varanasi) you attain what is popularly known as ‘Kashi Labh’ or ‘the fruit of Kashi’—moksh or “release from the cycle of rebirth impelled by the law of karma”.

Kashi Labh Mukti Bhawan in Varanasi is one of the three guesthouses in the city where people check in to die. The other two are Mumukshu Bhawan and Ganga Labh Bhawan. Established in 1908, Mukti Bhawan is well-known within the city and outside.

Bhairav Nath Shukla has been the Manager of Mukti Bhawan for 44 years. He has seen the rich and the poor take refuge in the guesthouse in their final days as they await death and hope to find peace. Shukla hopes with and for them. He sits on the wooden bench in the courtyard, against the red brick wall and shares with me 12 recurring life lessons from the 12000 deaths he has witnessed in his experience as the manager of Mukti Bhawan:

1. Resolve all conflicts before you go

 

2. Simplicity is the truth of life.

 

3. Filter out people’s bad traits

 

4. Be willing to seek help from others

 

5. Find beauty in simple things

 

6. Acceptance is liberation

 

7. Accepting everyone as the same makes service easier

 

8. If/When you find your purpose, do something about it

 

9. Habits become values

 

10. Choose what you want to learn

Start to remember the things that made their heart sing once.

 

11. You don’t break ties with people; you break ties with the thought they produce

 

12. 10 percent of what you earn should be kept aside for dharma

 

Source: 12 Life Lessons from a Man Who’s Seen 12000 Deaths 

Leave a Reply

